@Sohaib Athar who stopped hiding in the mountains (thank God!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think that Osama’s death wouldn’t have been the same without Sohaib Athar (the guy who lived nearby the BinLaden compound and twitted the helicopter hovering)

He started with: (I quote some of his tweets)

  • “Helicopter hovering above Abbottabad at 1AM (is a rare event).”
  • “Go away helicopter – before I take out my giant swatter :-/”
  • “@raihak Funny, moving to Abbottabad was part of the ‘being safe’ strategy”
  • “Since taliban (probably) don’t have helicpoters, and since they’re saying it was not “ours”, so must be a complicated situation #abbottabad”
  • “The abbottabad helicopter/UFO was shot down near the Bilal Town area, and there’s report of a flash. People saying it could be a drone.”
  • “and now I feel I must apologize to the pilot about the swatter tweets :-/”
  • “RT @ISuckBigTime: Osama Bin Laden killed in Abbottabad, Pakistan.: ISI has confirmed it << Uh oh, there goes the neighborhood :-/”
  • “I guess I should unsubscribe from the #abbottabad search on twitter before it kills my machine. Leave Abbottabad alone, Osama and Obama…”
  • “I need to sleep, but Osama had to pick this day to die :-/”
  • “Uh oh, now I’m the guy who liveblogged the Osama raid without knowing it.”
  • “And the big question is – now that OBL does not live in Abbottabad, is it open to terrorist attacks too?”
  • “@saidation People who dream about twitter follower counts need a shrink, seriously”
  • “Thank you Google, thousands of email reduced to a few dozen.”
  • “Reuters got to me before I could go to sleep. “
  • “Bin Laden is dead. I didn’t kill him. Please let me sleep now.”
  • “Fact: I don’t own a TV set and stopped watching TV many years ago. Sorry three-lettered-big-tv-news-channels for not replying to your emails”
  • “I apologize for reporting the operation ‘unwittingly/unknowingly’ – had I known about it, I would have tweeted about it ‘wittingly’ I swear.”
  • “Spoke to Al Jazeera a few minutes ago – its a good thing they don’t use a 3-letter-acronym – and they are not as biased as the rest of ’em”
  • “@moliesre1981 No, I am not taking any money for the interviews – just losing sleep – a lot of it. “Monetization” is not really on my list.”

say something...

